The Baltics

The Baltic states comprise Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania, on the eastern shores of the Baltic Sea.

They are in north eastern europe bounded by the Baltic Sea to the west, Russia to the East and Poland to the south. The Baltic region is dotted with more than 7,000 lakes . The climate is cool and damp, Temperatures are moderate in comparison with Russia. Despite its extensive agriculture, the Baltic region remains more than one-third forested. Among the animals that inhabit the region are elk, boar, roe deer, wolves, hares, and badgers.

The vast majority of ethnic Estonians, Latvians, and Lithuanians live within the borders of their respective states. In all three countries virtually everyone among the titular nationalities speaks the native tongue as their first language.