The Balkans

The Balkans include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, and Slovenia.  

The Balkan peninsula is surrounded by the Adriatic, Aegean and Black Seas. The region is a contrast of hot mediterranean coastlines and cool European mountain ranges such as the Rhodope Mountains in southern Bulgaria, The Transylvanian Alps in Romania and the Dinaric range extending down the Adriatic coast to Albania. The main rivers are the Danube, Sava, and Vardar.